Alumni Senior Fellow

Prof. Dong Wang

Alumni Fellows

Käte Hamburger Kolleg / Centre for Global Cooperation Research
Schifferstraße 196
47059 Duisburg

Tel:  +49 (0)203 29861-132
Fax: +49 (0)203 29861-199


Prof. Dong Wang joined Käte Hamburger Kolleg / Centre for Global Cooperation Research as a Senior Fellow. She conducted her research in Research Unit 1 “The (Im)Possibility of Cooperation” from March 2013 to February 2014.

Research Interests

  • United States and China relations
  • China's foreign relations
  • Modern and contemporary Chinese history
  • China's interaction with the outside world

Current Projects

  • Chinese conceptions of global governance
  • Intellectual Property Rights and modern/contemporary China in the international order
  • Revisiting America's old China trade, 1784-1844
  • The Longmen Grottoes in a changing world: diplomacy, heritage, and representation
  • Disaster culture and risk management in China


Dong Wang is a Professor of Contemporary Chinese History, and Director of the Centre for East Asian Studies at the University of Turku, Finland. From 2002-2009, she has worked at Gordon College (Boston, Mass.) as Professor of Chinese History and as Executive Director of the East-West Institute of International Studies. She is also research associate at the Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies of Harvard University. For further information, click on


Prof. Dr. Dong WANG authored China’s Unequal Treaties: Narrating National History (Rowman & Littlefield, 2005), Managing God’s Higher Learning: U.S.-China Cultural Encounter and Canton Christian College (Lingnan University), 1888-1952 (Rowman & Littlefield, 2007), and The United States and China: A History from the Eighteenth Century to the Present (Rowman & Littlefield, January 2013). She also edited Christianity as an Issue in the History of United States-China Relations (a special volume of The Journal of American-East Asian Relations, 2008) and Restructuring Governance in Contemporary Urban China: Perspectives on State and Society (The Journal of Contemporary China, vol. 20, no. 72, 2011).

For a full list of publications, click on

Prof. Dr Claudia Derichs

Prof. Dr Pablo Holmes

Dr Mariana Nardone

Dr James Nyomakwa-Obimpeh

Dr Zeynep Sahin Mencutek

Prof. Dr Frank Adloff

Prof. Dr Gerald Chan

Gerardo Bracho

Prof. Dr Dr Marlies Ahlert

Dr Stephen Adaawen

Prof. Dr Anja Jetschke

Dr Peter Finkenbusch

Dr Dr Ariel Hernández

Dr Esref Aksu

Dr Charmaine Misalucha-Willoughby

Dr Pol Bargués-Pedreny

Dr Burcu Bayram

Dr Isaline Bergamaschi

Dr Felix Bethke

Dr Sarah Van Beurden

Dr Petra Gümplová

Jun.-Prof. Dr Manuel Borutta

Dr Morgan Brigg

Prof. Dr Gunther Hellmann

Prof. Dr Lothar Brock

Dr Yannis Kallianos

Prof. Stephen Brown

Prof. Dr Susanne Buckley-Zistel

Prof. Dr Bettina Burger-Menzel

Dr Alessandra Cappelletti

Prof. David Carment, Ph.D.

Dr Paula Castro

Dr Ayse Cavdar

Prof. David Chandler

Prof. Hongming Cheng

Prof. Dr Manjiao Chi

Prof. Andrew Cooper

Prof. Dr Larry Crump

Prof. Dr Susan Erikson

Dr Alejandro Esguerra

Prof. Dr Isabel Feichtner

Jaroslava Gajdošová, Ph.D.

Prof. Noemi Gal-Or, Ph.D., LL.B.

Dr Daniel Gaus

Mneesha Gellman, Ph.D.

Dr Joe Hoover

Dr Payam Ghalehdar

Prof. Faten Ghosn

Dr Gianluca Grimalda

Dr Jennifer Gronau

Dr Stefan Groth

Prof. Dr Eric Grynaviski

Dr Heike Hennig-Schmidt

Prof. Dr Jon Hovi

Prof. Meibo Huang

Dr Abou Jeng

Prof. Dr Jonathan Joseph

Dr phil. habil. Otto Kallscheuer

Prof. Dr Babacar Kanté

Prof. Dr Ina Kerner

Dr Kai Koddenbrock

Mag. Dr Martina Kopf

Prof. Dr Bernd Lahno

Dr Deepshikha Shahi

Prof. Siddharth Mallavarapu

Dr rer. pol. Winfried Veit

Dr Xavier Mathieu

Aysem Mert, Ph.D.

PD Dr Christian Meyer

Dr Elisabetta Nadalutti

Dr Dirk Peters

Dr Steven Pierce

Prof. Elena Pulcini

Prof. Dr Sigrid Quack

Dr Salvador Santino F. Regilme

Dr Nicole Renvert

Dr Mathieu Rousselin

Dr Galya Ruffer

Dr Olivia Rutazibwa

Mag. Dr Ariane Sadjed

Dr Shirin Saeidi

Prof. Dr Enrique Saravia

Dr Andrea Schapper

Prof. Dr Klaus Schlichte

Dr Jessica Schmidt

Dr Mario Schmidt

Prof. Dr Ulrich Schneckener

Prof. Jan Aart Scholte

Dr habil. Birgit Schwelling

Dr Katrin Seidel

Dr Balraj K. Sidhu

Dr Abdolkarim Soroush

Prof. Detlef Sprinz, Ph.D.

Dr Holger Straßheim

Dr Ángela Suárez-Collado

Dr Liam Swiss

Prof. Dr Christian J. Tams

Margret Thalwitz

Dr Peter Thiery

Prof. emerit. Arild Underdal

Dr Wanda Vrasti

Prof. Dong Wang

Dr Hung-Jen Wang

Prof. Dr Herbert Wulf

Prof. Dr Dvora Yanow

Dr Fariborz Zelli

Prof. Dr Shirin Zubair