Alumni Postdoc Fellow

Dr Hung-Jen Wang

Alumni Fellows

Käte Hamburger Kolleg / Centre for Global Cooperation Research
Schifferstr. 44
47059 Duisburg

Tel:  +49 (0)203 379-5230
Fax: +49 (0)203 379-5276
E-mail: wang@spam


Dr Hung-Jen Wang joined the Käte Hamburger Kolleg / Centre for Global Cooperation Research as a Postdoc Fellow. He conducted his research in Research Unit 4 “Paradoxes and Perspectives of Democratisation” from September 2012 to January 2014.

Research Project at the Centre

Hung-Jen Wang’s first research project at the Centre - "China’s Rising Power and Global Governance" - analysed China’s rising role in world politics in two aspects: (1) Chinese perspectives on global governance concepts; and (2) Chinese legitimacy strategies in justifying their rule of order.

From October 2013 Hung-Jen Wang will work on a second project, entitled "Understanding Global Governance and Cooperation: A Comparative Study of the European Union, Great Britain, China, Japan and the United States".

Research on global issues has been long beset by an important problem, that is, it is inherently Western or American-centric. This may be something of an exaggeration. Other intellectual/diplomatic traditions, most notably those coming from the United Kingdom, Germany and Japan, have also influenced the evolution of international studies and real global politics, not to mention China’s recent ascendancy and its potential impact on the contemporary world.

It is still the case, though, that the field of global governance has remained a profoundly Western affair. It is American and European authors that have given it its basic vocabulary: the understandings of the state, the market, governance, democracy and similar concepts, which have framed the central claims and debates in the field of global issues.

The aim of the proposed research project is thus trying to place the entire discipline as well as the researchers within it with unavoidable and crucially important questions: What exactly does it mean to say that global studies are Western-centric? What has been overlooked or misunderstood, when it comes to the global politics of the non-Western world? Moreover, what would a discipline which is no longer Western-centric actually look like? Finally, but not the least important, why and how can different cultural/national/historical cases support different (or even similar) approaches to global issues? These are vexing questions for all who work in global studies, not least because the field is yet appear to have the intellectual tools and insights that would allow to answer them in full.

Research Interests

  • IR Theory, International Security, Global Governance
  • Democractisation, Comparative Authoritarianism
  • Chinese Foreign Policy, Cross-Strait Relations (China-Taiwan)


2009 - 2012 ERCCT - European Research Center on Contemporary Taiwan, University of Tübingen


Wang, Hung-Jen (expected 2013): The Rise of China and Chinese International Relations, Lanham, MD: Lexington Books

Wang, Hung-Jen (2013): Being Uniquely Universal: Building Chinese International Relations Theory in: Journal of Contemporary China, 22: 81, pp. 518-534

Wang, Hung-Jen (2012): Liberalist Variation in Taiwan: Four Democratization Orientations in: Journal of Current Chinese Affairs, 41:3, pp.93-116


  • Conference Grant for Workshop on "Revolution and Its Legacy in China" at Freie Universität Berlin of Taipeh Vertretung in der BRD (November 2011)
  • Dissertation Scholarship of Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation, Taiwan (2011-2012)
  • Summer Scholarship of the German Academic Exchange Service (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst, DAAD) (2010)
  • Teaching Assistantship of Cornell University Graduate School (2007-2009)
  • Sage Fellowship of Cornell University (2006-2007)
  • University of Denver, Graduate School of International Studies Scholarship (2004-2006)
  • Mark of Distinction for MA Thesis, Queen’s University of Belfast (2002)
  • Merit Award, Queen’s University of Belfast (2002)
  • President’s Award (top 5% of academic class), National Taiwan University, Department of Political Science (2001)

Dr Philip Liste

Dr Blayne Haggart

Prof. Dr Marianne Marchand

Dr Tamirace Fakhoury

Dr Adam Sandor

Prof. Dr Claudia Derichs

Dr Stephen Adaawen

Dr Dr Ariel Hernández

Prof. Dr Frank Adloff

Dr Bettina Mahlert

Dr Franz Mauelshagen

Prof. Dr Dr Marlies Ahlert

Dr Zeynep Sahin Mencutek

Dr Mariana Nardone

Dr Ying Shen

Prof. Dr Andreas Thiel

Dr Esref Aksu

Dr Micheline van Riemsdijk

Prof. Dr Wouter Werner

Dr Pol Bargués-Pedreny

Dr Burcu Bayram

Dr Isaline Bergamaschi

Dr Felix Bethke

Dr Sarah Van Beurden

Jun.-Prof. Dr Manuel Borutta

Gerardo Bracho

Dr Morgan Brigg

Prof. Dr Lothar Brock

Prof. Stephen Brown

Prof. Dr Susanne Buckley-Zistel

Prof. Dr Bettina Burger-Menzel

Dr Alessandra Cappelletti

Prof. David Carment, Ph.D.

Dr Paula Castro

Dr Ayse Cavdar

Prof. Dr Gerald Chan

Prof. David Chandler

Prof. Hongming Cheng

Prof. Dr Manjiao Chi

Prof. Andrew Cooper

Prof. Dr Larry Crump

Prof. Dr Susan Erikson

Dr Alejandro Esguerra

Prof. Dr Isabel Feichtner

Dr Peter Finkenbusch

Jaroslava Gajdošová, Ph.D.

Prof. Noemi Gal-Or, Ph.D., LL.B.

Dr Daniel Gaus

Mneesha Gellman, Ph.D.

Dr Payam Ghalehdar

Prof. Faten Ghosn

Dr Gianluca Grimalda

Dr Jennifer Gronau

Dr Stefan Groth

Prof. Dr Eric Grynaviski

Dr Petra Gümplová

Prof. Dr Gunther Hellmann

Dr Heike Hennig-Schmidt

Prof. Dr Pablo Holmes

Dr Joe Hoover

Prof. Dr Jon Hovi

Prof. Meibo Huang

Dr Abou Jeng

Prof. Dr Anja Jetschke

Prof. Dr Jonathan Joseph

Dr Yannis Kallianos

Dr phil. habil. Otto Kallscheuer

Prof. Dr Babacar Kanté

Prof. Dr Ina Kerner

Dr Kai Koddenbrock

Mag. Dr Martina Kopf

Prof. Dr Bernd Lahno

Prof. Siddharth Mallavarapu

Dr Xavier Mathieu

Aysem Mert, Ph.D.

PD Dr Christian Meyer

Dr Charmaine Misalucha-Willoughby

Dr Elisabetta Nadalutti

Dr James Nyomakwa-Obimpeh

Dr Dirk Peters

Dr Steven Pierce

Prof. Elena Pulcini

Prof. Dr Sigrid Quack

Dr Salvador Santino F. Regilme

Dr Nicole Renvert

Dr Mathieu Rousselin

Dr Galya Ruffer

Dr Olivia Rutazibwa

Mag. Dr Ariane Sadjed

Dr Shirin Saeidi

Prof. Dr Enrique Saravia

Dr Andrea Schapper

Prof. Dr Klaus Schlichte

Dr Jessica Schmidt

Dr Mario Schmidt

Prof. Dr Ulrich Schneckener

Prof. Jan Aart Scholte

Dr habil. Birgit Schwelling

Dr Katrin Seidel

Dr Balraj K. Sidhu

Dr Deepshikha Shahi

Dr Abdolkarim Soroush

Prof. Detlef Sprinz, Ph.D.

Dr Holger Straßheim

Dr Ángela Suárez-Collado

Dr Liam Swiss

Prof. Dr Christian J. Tams

Margret Thalwitz

Dr Peter Thiery

Prof. emerit. Arild Underdal

Dr rer. pol. Winfried Veit

Dr Wanda Vrasti

Prof. Dong Wang

Dr Hung-Jen Wang

Prof. Dr Herbert Wulf

Prof. Dr Dvora Yanow

Dr Fariborz Zelli

Prof. Dr Shirin Zubair