Scientific Advisory Board

Board Members

Prof. Dr Dipesh Chakrabarty

'Lawrence A. Kimpton Distinguished Service' Professor of History, South Asian Languages and Civilizations, and the College; further appointments at the Affiliated Faculty of English, the Resource Faculty of Cinema and Media Studies and Comparative Literature, and a courtesy appointment in the Law School, as well as Faculty Fellow at the Chicago Center for Contemporary Theory (2004–present), University of Chicago.

Prof. Dr Nicole Deitelhoff

Chair for International Relations and Theories of World Orders at the Cluster of Excellence 'The Formation of Normative Orders', Goethe University of Frankfurt, Germany; Executive Director of the Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Germany; Head of the PRIF-Research Group 'Contested Normativity: Norm Conflicts in Global Governance'.

Prof. Dr Marie-Claire Foblets

Director of the Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology and Head of its Department ‘Law & Anthropology’, Halle, Germany (since March 2012); Honorary Professor of Law and Anthropology, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany (since June 2014);Member of the Saxon Academy of Sciences (since 2015).

Prof. Dr Daniel Haun

Chair of 'Early Child Development and Culture' at the Faculty of Education, University of Leipzig, Germany.

Prof. Dr Pan Jiahua

Director of the Institute for Urban and Environmental Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS); Professor of Economics at CASS Graduate School; Member of the China National Expert Panel on Climate Change, the National Foreign Policy Advisory Group, Advisor to the Ministry of Environment Protection, and Vice President of the Chinese Society of Ecological Economists and the Chinese Energy Association.

Prof. Dr Mirjam Künkler

Fellow at the Lichtenberg-Kolleg, The Göttingen Institute for Advanced Study, University of Göttingen, Germany, and Fellow at the Swedish Collogium for Advanced Study, Uppsala, Sweden (since September 2016).

Prof. Dr Thilo Marauhn

Professor and Chair of Public Law, Public International Law and European Law, Justus Liebig University Giessen, Germany; Senior Researcher and Head of Research Group 'Public International Law' of the research department 'Non-Program-Bound and Future Related Research' at the Peace Research Institute Frankfurt, Germany.

Prof. Dr Dr hc Angelika Nußberger

Judge and since 1 February 2017 Vice-President at the European Court of Human Rights; Director of the Institute of Eastern European Law, Chair of Constitutional Law, International Law and Comparative Law, University of Cologne, Germany (on leave until 1 January 2020).

Prof. Dr Michael Zürn

Chair of the Advisory Board

Director of the Research Unit 'Global Governance', Head of the Center for Global Constitutionalism and the Bridging Project 'The Political Sociology of Cosmopolitanism and Communitarianism' at the Berlin Social Science Center (WZB), and Professor of International Relations, Freie Universität Berlin.