Alumni Postdoc Fellow

Dr Yannis Kallianos

Fellows Unit 4

Käte Hamburger Kolleg / Centre for Global Cooperation Research
Schifferstraße 44
47059 Duisburg

Tel: +49 (0)203 29861-127
Fax: +49 (0)203 379-5276
E-mail: kallianos@spam


Dr Yannis Kallianos joined Käte Hamburger Kolleg / Centre for Global Cooperation Research as a Postdoc Fellow. He conducted his research in Research Unit 4 'Paradoxes and Perspectives of Democratization' from February 2017 to January 2018.

Research Project at the Centre

Crisis, Legitimacy, and Social Contestation: The everyday politics of (de)legitimation processes in Greece

My project focuses on the crisis of representative democracy in Southern Europe through a study of (de)legitimation processes and ensuing socio-political change in Greece. It investigates the modalities of (de)legitimation of official political institutions based on events and practices of social contestation and everyday collective action which challenge traditional notions of political representation and participation. The project utilises the notion of legitimacy to attend to the multifarious networks of power and contestation that have been enabled and mobilized in the process of justifying or challenging political authorities in times of crisis.

Research Interests

  • Political Legitimacy
  • Everyday Politics
  • Social Contestation
  • Political Imagination
  • Public Space
  • Infrastructures
  • Waste

Current Projects

  • Political legitimacy and social contestation in Greece in times of crisis
  • The politics of waste infrastructures in Athens (Greece)


2016-2017 Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Department of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Visiting Fellow
2015-2016 Centre for Advanced Study Sofia (CAS), Bulgaria
2013-2014 University of Manchester, UK
Centre for Research on Socio-Cultural Change (CRESC)
Research Associate
2007-2012 University of St Andrews, UK
Department of Social Anthropology
Ph.D. Candidate


Kallianos, Yannis (2018): Crisis, Contestation, and Legitimacy in Greece, in: D. Dalakoglou and G. Agelopoulos (eds.), Critical Times in Greece: Anthropological Engagements with the Crisis, London: Routledge.

Kallianos, Yannis (2017): Technopolitics of (De)Legitimation and Contested Infrastructures in Times of Crisis in Greece, CAS Working Paper Series No. 9, Sofia.

Ruppert, E., Harvey, P., Lury, C., Mackenzie, A., McNally, R., Baker, S. A., Kallianos, Y. & Lewis, C. (2015): Socialising Big Data: From concept to practice, CRESC Working Paper 138.

Kallianos, Yannis (2014): The (il)legitimate City; spatiotemporal approaches of legitimacy and social change in Athens at times of crisis, Sociologia Urbana e Rurale 104: 67–81.

Dalakoglou, Dimitris, and Kallianos, Yannis (2014): Infrastructural Flows, Interruptions and Stasis in Athens of the Crisis, City: analysis of urban trends, culture, theory, policy, action 18 (4-5): 526–32.

Kallianos, Yannis (2014): To ‘Lose One’s Way’ in a City in Crisis; Techniques of Navigating and Walking in Spaces of Disorder, in: M. Tsilimpounidi and A. Walsh (eds), Remapping Crisis: A Guide to Athens. London: Zero Books.

Kallianos, Yannis (2013): Agency of the street: Crisis, radical politics and the production of public space in Athens 2008-2012, City: analysis of urban trends, culture, theory, policy, action 17 (4): 548–57.

Kallianos, Yannis (2012): The Fall of the ‘Purified’ Community: Crisis, Transformation and Collective Action in Athens, The Unfamiliar 2 (2): 28–34.

Kallianos, Yannis (2011): December as an event in Greek Radical Politics, in: A. Vradis and D. Dalakoglou (eds.), Revolt and Crisis in Greece: Between a present yet to pass and a future still to come, Edinburgh and London: AK Press & Occupied London.

Dr Philip Liste

Dr. Blayne Haggart

Prof. Dr Marianne Marchand

Dr Tamirace Fakhoury

Dr Adam Sandor

Prof. Dr Claudia Derichs

Dr Stephen Adaawen

Dr Dr Ariel Hernández

Prof. Dr Frank Adloff

Dr Bettina Mahlert

Dr Franz Mauelshagen

Prof. Dr Dr Marlies Ahlert

Dr Zeynep Sahin Mencutek

Dr Mariana Nardone

Dr Ying Shen

Prof. Dr Andreas Thiel

Dr Esref Aksu

Dr Micheline van Riemsdijk

Prof. Dr Wouter Werner

Dr Pol Bargués-Pedreny

Dr Burcu Bayram

Dr Isaline Bergamaschi

Dr Felix Bethke

Dr Sarah Van Beurden

Jun.-Prof. Dr Manuel Borutta

Gerardo Bracho

Dr Morgan Brigg

Prof. Dr Lothar Brock

Prof. Stephen Brown

Prof. Dr Susanne Buckley-Zistel

Prof. Dr Bettina Burger-Menzel

Dr Alessandra Cappelletti

Prof. David Carment, Ph.D.

Dr Paula Castro

Dr Ayse Cavdar

Prof. Dr Gerald Chan

Prof. David Chandler

Prof. Hongming Cheng

Prof. Dr Manjiao Chi

Prof. Andrew Cooper

Prof. Dr Larry Crump

Prof. Dr Susan Erikson

Dr Alejandro Esguerra

Prof. Dr Isabel Feichtner

Dr Peter Finkenbusch

Jaroslava Gajdošová, Ph.D.

Prof. Noemi Gal-Or, Ph.D., LL.B.

Dr Daniel Gaus

Mneesha Gellman, Ph.D.

Dr Payam Ghalehdar

Prof. Faten Ghosn

Dr Gianluca Grimalda

Dr Jennifer Gronau

Dr Stefan Groth

Prof. Dr Eric Grynaviski

Dr Petra Gümplová

Prof. Dr Gunther Hellmann

Dr Heike Hennig-Schmidt

Prof. Dr Pablo Holmes

Dr Joe Hoover

Prof. Dr Jon Hovi

Prof. Meibo Huang

Dr Abou Jeng

Prof. Dr Anja Jetschke

Prof. Dr Jonathan Joseph

Dr Yannis Kallianos

Dr phil. habil. Otto Kallscheuer

Prof. Dr Babacar Kanté

Prof. Dr Ina Kerner

Dr Kai Koddenbrock

Mag. Dr Martina Kopf

Prof. Dr Bernd Lahno

Prof. Siddharth Mallavarapu

Dr Xavier Mathieu

Aysem Mert, Ph.D.

PD Dr Christian Meyer

Dr Charmaine Misalucha-Willoughby

Dr Elisabetta Nadalutti

Dr James Nyomakwa-Obimpeh

Dr Dirk Peters

Dr Steven Pierce

Prof. Elena Pulcini

Prof. Dr Sigrid Quack

Dr Salvador Santino F. Regilme

Dr Nicole Renvert

Dr Mathieu Rousselin

Dr Galya Ruffer

Dr Olivia Rutazibwa

Mag. Dr Ariane Sadjed

Dr Shirin Saeidi

Prof. Dr Enrique Saravia

Dr Andrea Schapper

Prof. Dr Klaus Schlichte

Dr Jessica Schmidt

Dr Mario Schmidt

Prof. Dr Ulrich Schneckener

Prof. Jan Aart Scholte

Dr habil. Birgit Schwelling

Dr Katrin Seidel

Dr Balraj K. Sidhu

Dr Deepshikha Shahi

Dr Abdolkarim Soroush

Prof. Detlef Sprinz, Ph.D.

Dr Holger Straßheim

Dr Ángela Suárez-Collado

Dr Liam Swiss

Prof. Dr Christian J. Tams

Margret Thalwitz

Dr Peter Thiery

Prof. emerit. Arild Underdal

Dr rer. pol. Winfried Veit

Dr Wanda Vrasti

Prof. Dong Wang

Dr Hung-Jen Wang

Prof. Dr Herbert Wulf

Prof. Dr Dvora Yanow

Dr Fariborz Zelli

Prof. Dr Shirin Zubair